Day trips in Italy – Fiesole

When I first arrived in Florence, I decided to take a sightseeing bus – yes, one of those red huge buses you see filled with tourists. I felt that in order to properly settle into a place, I needed a good overview, from the top of this double-decker bus!

We rode all around Forence, but what really captured me was when we went way way up, into the hills of Fiesole.

Fiesole is an ancient Etruscan city, dating back to 283BC. It is full of mystery, has an ancient amphitheatre, and breathtaking views. When I first saw it, I promised to come back… it has this essence that really draws you in, it almost whispers to you to come, and stay.

Below are some photos taken on my day trip to Fiesole. I hope you will pay it a visit one day.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Perfect day with beautiful sunshine in FiesoleOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Rustic Italian restaurant

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Me standing in front of the beautiful view.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Amphitheatre

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Ancient ruins

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Beautiful Tuscan Sun.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I would really recommend a visit. It’s an understated town with not much said about it, but it has its own unique charm. You can visit the ruins, the church and there are several museums including the Museo Civico Archeologico, which houses many archeological finds from the city, and Museo Bandini which is filled with medieval art.

What are some of your favourite day trips where you are from?? Let me know below 🙂

Leave a Reply

